Broccoli Cheddar Soup

OK, I don’t think I can go very far without divulging a little detail about myself.

My name is Emily and I’m addicted to Pinterest.

I just… can’t help it.  There are so many great ideas there that really inspire me to try a new recipe or attempt a crafty project that I thought would be difficult but, oh look, someone broke it down and – it’s EASY!

Another thing I love about it?  All of the copycat recipes.  You’re telling me I can make a Cheesecake Factory cheesecake in my own kitchen? Yes, please!

This is a recipe I found via Pinterest for a Broccoli Cheddar Soup that tastes like the soup at Panera Bread.  I love going to Panera but it can get expensive sometimes so I was thrilled to learn I could make something similar at home for much cheaper.  Oh, and it tastes great. 🙂

Broccoli Cheddar Soup (serves 4)
Recipe adapted from Food.com via Pinterest

Ingredients:

1/4 c plus 1 T butter
1/2 medium onion, chopped
1/4 c flour
2 c half and half
2 c chicken broth or stock
1 medium head of broccoli, chopped
2 carrots, shredded
1/4 t nutmeg
2 c  sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1/2 T Worcestershire sauce
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large pot, melt 1 T butter over medium heat.  Once melted, add in the chopped onions.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and saute until onions are translucent, but not brown.

Transfer cooked onions to a separate bowl and melt remaining 1/4 c butter in the pot.  Once the butter is melted, whisk in the flour a little at a time to avoid clumps.  You want to whisk the roux until the flour taste cooks out, about 3-5 minutes.  Then slowly add the half and half, whisking as you go to avoid clumping.  You want to make sure your mixture stays creamy.  Once you’ve added all the half and half, go ahead and add in your chicken stock.  Let this simmer over low heat for about 20 minutes.  You want to make sure this doesn’t boil or it will stick to the bottom of the pan and get clumpy – ick.

Next, add in the broccoli, carrots, and reserved onions.  Give it a stir and let it simmer for another 20-25 minutes.

Once veggies are tender, add in the cheese a half cup at a time, stirring after each addition.  Stir in the nutmeg and Worcestershire sauce.  Salt and pepper to taste.

And voila! This soup is so wonderful this time of year.  It’s warm and hearty and the Worcestershire gives it just a little kick.  It has quickly become part of my usual repertoire and I hope it will become a part of yours as well.

December 7, 2011. Tags: , . Savory.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI